The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 19 February 2017, 10:33 PM   #1
matthijs
"TRF" Member

Rolex Service cost?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the Rolex forums and wasn't completely sure if this was the right place to post this question, so I apologize if it's not.

I recently inherited a 1980's Datejust (16030) from my grandfather who passed away and I wanted to get the watch serviced to fully restore it in his honour. After dropping it off at the local authorized Rolex dealer (in the Netherlands) they gave me a quote of 1150 euros (around $1220), which includes the replacement of the crystal, the rotor and the crown (and maybe a few other things that I forgot).

Is this what I can expect to pay at any dealer, or is this abnormally expensive? The basic fee for standard full service is 750 euros at this place. I realize that servicing Rolex watches is a delicate process and requires a high level of precision, but I was pretty shocked to hear this. Does anyone know if there are lower cost alternatives available? While I don't want to be cheap and settle for imperfect service, I would prefer not to pay more than necessary.

Thanks very much for your insights!

Kind regards,
Matthijs
Old 10 March 2017, 01:29 AM   #2
chrisca70
"TRF" Member

Watch: ing you!
In the US, watchmakers with training up to Rolex standards, correct tools, and parts account service starts at $400-450, add crystal, crown and rotor and I guess you should be around US$700-800. You can ship it to Rikki (forum member "Ricki" at Timecareinc.com) or Vanessa (forum member "Vanessa CW21") they both have excellent reputation. With shipping both ways you probably will be just under a $1000...
Old 10 March 2017, 08:59 AM   #3
Sweetswisssteel
"TRF" Member

Watch: 126618LB
Why add crystal?

Sent from my HTC_0P6B using Tapatalk
Old 14 March 2017, 11:51 PM   #4
Chiel
"TRF" Member

Hi Matthijs,