The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Patek Philippe Discussion Forum

Old 28 March 2015, 11:43 PM   #1
PP101
"TRF" Member

Servicing questions

Apologies if this is already covered elsewhere, but as a PP newbie, I am wondering whether forum members actually do have their prized watches serviced as often as recommended, and what percentage have them serviced by PP.

I ask this as a Rolex wearer who has been regularly wearing the same watch for close on 40 years, which been serviced once during that time and yet still keeps perfect time !

I am considering the purchase of a factory sealed Grand Complication manufactured in 2007, for everyday wear. Will that theoretically need a service before it is worn and (leaving aside maintaining value) does it justify a PP service given that it should be in perfect mechanical condition ?

If anyone has a recommendation for a reliable watchmaker in London, who is up to servicing complicated PP watches, a recommendation would also be appreciated (by PM if appropriate ?).
PP101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29 March 2015, 01:12 AM   #2
jon_jon
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP101 View Post
Apologies if this is already covered elsewhere, but as a PP newbie, I am wondering whether forum members actually do have their prized watches serviced as often as recommended, and what percentage have them serviced by PP.

I ask this as a Rolex wearer who has been regularly wearing the same watch for close on 40 years, which been serviced once during that time and yet still keeps perfect time !

I am considering the purchase of a factory sealed Grand Complication manufactured in 2007, for everyday wear. Will that theoretically need a service before it is worn and (leaving aside maintaining value) does it justify a PP service given that it should be in perfect mechanical condition ?