The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Ω Omega Discussion Forum

Old 19 May 2020, 11:08 PM   #1
YYR
"TRF" Member

321 movement.

I’m new to the omega forum so excuse me if this was discussed.
My question is what do you guys think of the new steel speedmaster with the 321 movement? I know it’s historic but are they overcharging for that watch? I don’t see how they are charging 2 1/2 times the price as moonwatch, now I don’t really understand the movement so maybe I’m missing something and it’s more complicated and finely finished, but is it?
YYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2020, 12:09 AM   #2
ree7
"TRF" Member

To me the launch is targeted to be a nostalgic piece. Sort of like if BMW simply announce they'll be making a limited batch of new E30 M3s using original blueprints. It's bound to be expensive. It's not meant for everyone. But some will buy it without considering the price. And it's also not to be compared with the current base-model 3-series (current mass-produced 1861 Moonwatch).
The original vintage Ed White 321s are currently trading in a similar price range anyway. So through the new 321 Omega is trying to offer those who've never considered buying well-worn vintage watches to buy a 'new' vintage piece. At a similar price point.
ree7 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2020, 12:18 AM   #3
Chester01
"TRF" Member

Watch: 16610
No, it’s not over priced, though expensive. They had to put a great deal of time and effort into bring this movement back and will likely be making very few as a result. The movement has been used by PP and the like. It’s also far more legible and significant than the Daytona as well.
Chester01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 May 2020, 01:27 AM   #4
Greg 59
"TRF" Member

If buy one tomorrow if i had the chance

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk