The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 24 November 2014, 10:50 AM   #1
GR8 White Hope
"TRF" Member

Rolex 1680 Red Sub Complete Restoration - Bob Ridley

Hi All,

I am a long time watcher of the forum. About ten years ago my father gave me a 1680 Red Sub that he bought new when he was a younger man. He wore it every day for a very very long time and wanted to pass it down to me as I graduated college and set out into the professional world.

I absolutely love the watch and wore it a ton until the bracelet started to give out about 3 years ago. I was fearful that the bracelet would ultimately fail and I would lose the watch in the process. Out of paranoia I decided to put the watch in my safety deposit box until I could safe the money to do a proper and complete restoration of the watch. My father never had it serviced and I had it only serviced once since I became the new owner.

Fast forward three year, and it's May 2014. I began exhaustive research of the watch servicing. I now have a two year old son and wanted the watch to be completely restored and brought up to the highest standards so that it could stand the test of time and one day I could pass it down to my son and he to his son one day. In my searching Bob Ridley's name kept on coming to the top of the list.