The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 26 May 2010, 12:57 PM   #1
keschete
"TRF" Member

Watch: 116500
On a POSITIVE Note!

FINALLY,

Finally, I am breathing a sigh of relief that someone "really" gets it. Every few days, either an Audubon Society rep or a National WIildlife and Fisheries rep calls we with a ridiculous request to run an 8 hour trip with a bird or to go sit in a tiki hut at a dock for 8 hours.

I started telling them no...well, finally today, a wildlife rehab group about 2 hours from me called and said, somehow....BP, Audubon and NFWS put me on their list of volunteers....like I worked with them.

Well, the lady didn't recognize my name. So she called. I told her, that I was not affiliated with a group. And she took the time to find out that I have 10 years plus rehab experience, plus human medical skills. She also updated me and told me that after a whole month of confusing mess...

They have finally started transporting birds via boat, instead of by road from each of the bayous to Venice and the rehab center. This is significant, because by road, it is 4 hours from one long finger of land up and then back down another finger of land. I have been telling anyone with BP, Audubon and NWFS that they needed to transport by boat or helicopter.

The second good thing, once I told her my skills, she agreed that I could be of much greater use at the Tri-state bird facility at Fort Jackson / Venice. Working with Dr. Miller and her crew.

So finally, I am on the schedule to work 8 to 10 hours every Saturday for the next 5 weekends. Its a 2 1/2 hour drive to get there, but I can do that. I can go home at night and sleep in my own bed. I don't mind 14 hour days, if I am accomplishing something.