The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 5 April 2019, 12:17 PM   #1
Pele
"TRF" Member

What do you think about this 1655? Help

I am new to this world and for my first Rolex I have my heart set on a 1655 in excellent condition. Unfortunately, everyone else seems to have their hearts set on this also at present! I am not a collector. Shocker here, I want to wear the watch on my wrist and use it to tell time and / or the date and generally just covet it ;)

That said, deciding to buy in a seller's market, should I ever wish to sell it, or just tire of wearing a 20K watch.. I will want to make some decisions that will hold me in good stead.

I have been casually researching this for a few months and now have just enough knowledge to be dangerous to myself. Therefore, after some lurking, I am reaching out to the group here for some help.

I have become somewhat overwhelmed at the last moment as I am considering a watch. This in part has to do with the nuanced marks (e.g., 1-5) and keeping track of the changes of the bezel, dial (railroad etc.) not to mention movement by year that sometimes splits years. The bottom line is that I want to keep some value in the watch from some classic features and not just follow the current fashion sellers’ trend that puts all 1655s in the same category. For example, my understanding off the top of my head is that the orange arrow hand in the 1980s is a kind of patina-fade after it came out of the factory painted red. Nevertheless, it is marketed currently at times as an "orange arrow hand." How much does this detail matter for the value? Nobody really knows. But the early vintage models for the sake of argument, let's just take the straight second hand 1971, do generally have some attributes that set them apart and give them value.