The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 26 January 2019, 04:54 AM   #1
zimen
"TRF" Member

New purchase! (and questions): 5513 Sub from 1974

Hello all, here’s my new purchase. My first vintage piece! I’m a really happy owner of a 1974 Submariner 5513 serial 379...

Here are some pictures below.

And I have a couple of questions for you if someone would help me :)

First of all an opinion on the overall watch and condition. If you think that there are any problems with it. I’m not an expert but I already noticed that the clasp (Or entire bracelet) is from 1984 (marked “i4”). I also believe that the bezel is a later one because the font and markets seem too thin, correct?). Shouldn’t this watch have a “fat font” bezel?

Also, it didn’t come with box or papers.

Do you think that I should source the period correct parts for it, including box? And if so, would you help me know which are the correct parts?

Did this come with a 93150 bracelet or the 9351? And is the correct box the 67.00.3 or the 10.00.1?

Thank you in advance for your help.

Simon
zimen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 January 2019, 06:52 AM   #2
Subspecies
"TRF" Member

Looks a nice honest non serif dial watch that is at the latter end of serial numbers for this example according to Beaumont's excellent website. The insert seems to be a mid font from the 80ies which ties in with the bracelet, likely changed together at service. Not too many around in the UK so a good catch.
Subspecies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 January 2019, 08:29 PM   #3
mag
"TRF" Member

Watch: Rolex,Zenith,Tudor
Hi Simon,