The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Closed Thread

Old 20 October 2021, 01:02 PM   #1
SANDIEGO
"TRF" Member

Can Anyone here Identify this Rolex Submariner?

Hello, I bought a Rolex Submariner used from someone in the early 1980s. It has on the face "ROTOR SELFWINDING"which I have not seen on any other Rolex Submariners. It has 5513 stamped on the case, Serial number 2015759.
Does anybody have any idea why I cannot find any other Rolex's with this on the face? I have had it to a jewelers and they verified it is a genuine Rolex Submariner. Photo of watch attached.

Any help here appreciated. Thanks..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2.JPG (81.1 KB, 589 views)
Old 20 October 2021, 01:05 PM   #2
matthew_r
"TRF" Member

Watch: 114200
I’m sorry, I am no expert but the watch appears to be fake or at least had its dial repainted.
Old 20 October 2021, 01:12 PM   #3
Eric88
"TRF" Member

Not good.
Old 20 October 2021, 01:41 PM   #4
vintagewatch
"TRF" Member

Watch: Sport 4digit ref#
The 2 million serial number would indicate production around 1970. Automatic Tudor watches at this time often had "Rotor Self Winding" on the dial (including the Submariner). If the watch is genuine my guess is that at some point the dial was replaced or refinished with the text resembling the Tudor Submariner dial for some reason (albeit strange).
Old 20 October 2021, 02:11 PM   #5
alwayshere
"TRF" Member

we need better pictures. Can you post pictures of the back of he watch. A close up of the dial and of the crown.