The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Patek Philippe Discussion Forum

Old 6 April 2020, 06:25 AM   #1
LJubel328
"TRF" Member

5168g-010 and 5740/1g grey pricing?

Two particular pieces I have wanted to add to my collection are the 5168g-010 and the 5740/1g, however, with such absurd prices on the secondary market over the last couple of years I have been waiting for a correction. Prior to this last year my collection had only been in the vintage world, however I have started developing a relationship with an AD. Between me and my family we've spent a good amount which I think has put us in good standing. For instance, my father wanted a 5990 and was able to receive it in two months.

With that being said, I don't want to ask for too many "hot" models simultaneously (currently, on the waitlist for the 5726/1a). I am still new to buying from ADs and don't know if there is a certain etiquette to follow. I would prefer to buy from my AD but with prices declining I would also be open to purchasing from a reputable grey for the right price. So my question to you all is where do you think these pieces are currently moving at as well as where they could be trading at in the coming months.
LJubel328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 April 2020, 06:32 AM   #2
Calatrava r
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: Rolex and Patek
I think the 5740 is very hard to get. Prices may soften, but with no stock available, probably not much in the near term. I do not see PP supplying much product until the whole crisis is over to maintain the product name and value.
Tough on their ADs but supportive of the retail owners of their watches.
Calatrava r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 April 2020, 06:37 AM   #3
thomaspp
"TRF" Member

5168g-010 and 5740/1g grey pricing?