The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 14 March 2018, 10:42 PM   #1
masterof
"TRF" Member

Help me identify this vintage Rolex

First of, im new to rolex. Please excuse noob.
Found this watch and the dealer wants 1700-1800 Euro.
Thanks for all feedback:)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg rolex1.jpg (206.5 KB, 431 views)
File Type: jpg rolex2.jpg (245.7 KB, 437 views)
File Type: jpg rolex3.jpg (203.1 KB, 432 views)
masterof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15 March 2018, 04:36 AM   #2
Paul
"TRF" Member

What you have there ..

The man from the land of the long white cloud sends greetings to the man from the land of the midnight sun

What you have there is Rolex 6565, a nice watch from an era that greatly appeals to me.

Unequivocally vintage, produced in 1959 (see the date code inside the case-back) and that code should align with a serial number that you'll find between the lugs at the 6 o'clock position (outside of the case). I might expect that serial number to be something like 399,xxx. And, if a stamping of 6565 is found between the lugs at the 12 o'clock position, you have a matching set of case components as they left the factory 60 years ago. The case looks to be in nice condition, see how the lugs look to be quite crisp, not all rounded off from hard wearing or over-polishing. We just have basic pics to study but that's the kinda thing Rolex nutters look for.

Looks to have a nice enough dial and hand set - and the style of those is what I'd expect for a 6565 from 1959. Pics aren't clear enough for me to see if the dial has been refinished but it's possibly AOK original. The black dial dress watches command a higher price but the white dials with the arrow plots and dagger hands (like the watch you've shown) are also rather nice IMHO