The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 21 October 2020, 10:09 PM   #1
Sam2710
"TRF" Member

Insurance Woes! - UK

Hello all,

Yesterday I picked up my first ever 'real' watch (incoming later). It's a Tudor Black Bay 58.

I'm having real, real difficulty trying to find reasonably priced insurance quotes. I work in insurance so I am well aware of how the market works, and having searched on these forums it appears the general consensus is that you should be paying around 1% of the watch value per year.

So far, these are the prices I have been given:

Adding to contents insurance: £40 for the next 2.5 months until my policy ends (I assume this will be an additional £150+ for the whole year come renewal). This is with a ridiculous excess fee in the event of a claim.

Assetsure: I have a policy with them already for my wife's jewellery. They are quoting me £250 per year to cover the Black Bay 58.

THMarch: £90 per year. By far the best of the bunch, but still quite expensive? I also discussed the claims process with the sales rep, and was told that they never offer a cash settlement. If the watch is no longer in production and you make a claim you have to choose another watch (even if it isn't one you want). They do not pay out if the watch cannot be replaced.

High net worth insurance: £135 per year.

I don't understand how people are covering £30,000 worth of watches for a couple hundred per year. What am I doing wrong? Any suggestions about where to turn next?

Thank you.
Sam2710 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21 October 2020, 10:14 PM   #2
fsprow
"TRF" Member

Watch: Patek 5168, 5170P
Although your circumstances may differ, I self-insure. My meaning is that while I have a significant watch collection, all stay in the safe except the one I am wearing. I’m willing to take the risk with that one watch versus the continued cost of insurance payments.
fsprow is offline   Reply With Quote