The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 5 November 2014, 08:36 AM   #1
zbg3
"TRF" Member

Red Sub: Please Help

Hello TRF:

I am relatively new to the world of vintage Rolex, but I have researched and seen just enough vintage watches to know that the red sub really appeals to me. I read the article on the "Sticky: Excellent Red Sub Post" which was awesome, but I would appreciate some additional help!

My local (and trusted) dealer has the red sub pictured below in his store which he says is circa 1971. Here are some questions I have:

1) Which "Mark" is this?
2) From the picture, how does the condition of the watch look?
3) How does the patina look? (If I'm buying a vintage watch, I want it to look vintage and still be legible)
4) I know this may be hard to tell from just a picture, but how much would you estimate is a fair price to pay for this one?
5) Any recommendations where to get some cool straps (deployment preferable) that are compatible with this watch?

Any other insight is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Red Sub.jpg (114.4 KB, 378 views)
zbg3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 November 2014, 08:50 AM   #2
andromeda160
Banned

Watch: Rolex Oyster
Quote:
Originally Posted by zbg3 View Post
Hello TRF:

I am relatively new to the world of vintage Rolex, but I have researched and seen just enough vintage watches to know that the red sub really appeals to me. I read the article on the "Sticky: Excellent Red Sub Post" which was awesome, but I would appreciate some additional help!

My local (and trusted) dealer has the red sub pictured below in his store which he says is circa 1971. Here are some questions I have:

1) Which "Mark" is this?
2) From the picture, how does the condition of the watch look?