The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 1 December 2022, 04:04 AM   #1
Peter99
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: 116610LN & 214270
Investing in Gold

I believe this was covered in the forum some time ago but what is the current thinking of the best coins to invest in for a small investor, say like myself initially say GBP15k ($18k)?
I am tempted towards the US Eagle or Krugerrand or Britannia.
My interest has been aroused having discussed with a friend who believes with current wars possibly escalating gold is now underpriced and should be invested.
Old 1 December 2022, 04:10 AM   #2
brandrea
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: es make me smile
I guess it depends. If your talking gold bullion, I wouldn’t bother with the physical metal I’d just buy the paper (provided the holder has the physical gold to match).

If you’re talking coins, I have no experience in which ones appreciate more.

Personally, I’m invested in a small way in the gold miners. They have more torque to the spot price of gold and some of them pay a nice dividend while you wait.
Old 1 December 2022, 04:14 AM   #3
WilsdorfNDavis
"TRF" Member

Mods...move this thread?
Old 1 December 2022, 04:16 AM   #4
Chewbacca
Banned

Watch: Kessel Run Chrono
Gold is a terrible investment.
Old 1 December 2022, 04:22 AM   #5
beshannon
"TRF" Member

Watch: One of Not Many
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peter99 View Post
My interest has been aroused having discussed with a friend who believes with current wars possibly escalating gold is now underpriced and should be invested.
With inflation coming down I am not sure it is a good time to be putting capital into inflation hedges
Vacheron Constantin Traditionnelle Complete Calendar, Glashutte PanoInverse, Glashutte SeaQ Panorama Date, Omega Aqua Terra 150, Omega CK 859, Omega Speedmaster 3861 Moonwatch, Glashutte Senator Exellence, Rolex 116710 GMT Master II BLNR, Breitling Superocean Steelfish, JLC Atmos Transparent