The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 4 July 2022, 12:04 PM   #1
Spongeboy
"TRF" Member

Watch: 116610LN
experiences with Rolex + apple computers and magnetism?

At the beginning of 2020 I got my dream watch, a sub date (a new one). When I got it, I wore it pretty much every waking hour of every day. Probably the only exception was I learned not to wear it when working on cars because it was hard to get grease out of it and it also tended to get in the way. Over the first 18 months it basically gained on average +1 SPD.

I do computer work for a living, so I am on a laptop for 8-10 hours a day, including for those first 18 months.

About a year ago I started a new job which involved getting a new laptop, a 2020 MacBook Pro laptop. What I found was, suddenly my watch was running fast all the time. Eventually it got to where it was running +30 SPD which is just crazy. I figured out that there are powerful magnets in the MacBook .. (used an iPhone app called MGS Lite to confirm this). Also there are powerful magnets in my iPad Pro! I bought a cheap degausser and it definitely settles things down for awhile.

I've adjusted my setup to where I have a separate keyboard (no magnets) and keep my iPad off to the side instead of laying right next to my keyboard. So my watch will behave normally and then one day it will suddenly get magnetized again. Another thing that happened recently was I obtained a set of AirPods with a case .. and that also has a powerful magnet. So there are just too many magnets! And around computers of all things! Growing up, those two things did not mix ....

In any case, wondering about the experiences of others using your Rolex around Apple products. I know this is not a milgauss, but I thought the modern Rolexes were pretty resistant with the high tech materials used in the mainspring?