The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Miscellaneous Forums > Pens & Writing Instruments

Old 19 September 2016, 03:18 PM   #1
Formulansx
"TRF" Member

Watch: Rolex,Omega,Seiko
Incoming! Visconti Wall Street standard edition

Last incoming for a while......I think. Besides a gold Lamy LX in a few weeks. I had been eyeing this Visconti Wall Street on eBay for a few months. I made an offer when I first saw the auction that was not accepted. The seller asked for a little more but I held out. The cap was not aligned to the body so it would need some work. I was mostly interested in the #6 14kt gold nib to swap with the palladium nib on my Visconti Millionaire. I like the 14kt nibs much better than the palladium and the 14kt nib in this size are out of production as far as I know. The seller didn't get a bid so he relisted for slightly less but not at my price point. I waited another few weeks. The third auction was a standard auction without a buy it now option or a make an offer feature. I placed a bid at the last second and won the auction for much less than my original offer. Score! A member here on TRF in another thread had mentioned using a little heat via near boiling water to loosen the shellac to adjust the insert in the cap that controls the alignment on these Wall Streets. Looking down the cap I saw some weird material that looked like epoxy at the bottom of the cap. I did not know why the cap was misaligned to start with so I was concerned and assumed the adhesive was not the standard shellac on this particular pen. I ended up using a 29/64" drill bit to gently, by hand, drill the insert to clock the facets to match. The whole process took 5min to remove enough material to clock the facets. I turned the bit a few times and checked the fit. Turned it again and checked fit. Very very little material was removed. I then polished the pen body and tarnished silv