The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Panerai Discussion Forum

Old 3 January 2020, 02:57 AM   #1
56Diver
"TRF" Member

Looking at 1305 or 692 for 1st Panerai

I have been wearing a large Oris diver for 10 years. It is stainless steel and has some heft to it which doesnt bother me. I have never had a Titanium watch and have just learned a little about the BMG technology used in the 692. There is a $3k price difference, which for me, is significant. That being said, I do like the "looks" of the 692 slightly more than the 1305.

My questions are as follows:

- I am rough on my watch and wear it for everything, everyday. I have heard the grade 2 titanium can scratch more easily than steel? I have read the BMG scratches less. Not sure how much of this is marketing hype, nor I am sure how much easier Ti scratches compared to SS? Any input is appreciated.

-I also cannot find any listed weights for these watches, and I am wondering which watch is lighter?

- I have read some reports of cracked lugs with the BMG tech. Any thoughts on that?

- I have read it is possible to get around 20% off. Locally I have a Tourneau store where I could buy or order one of these. Is that a store that gives discounts? I have found many online dealers with discounts reaching near 20% but I do not want to get scammed and get a fake watch, any insight here is appreciated greatly!

Would be great to hear from anyone who owns either watch and what their thoughts are.

Thank You
56Diver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3 January 2020, 05:13 PM   #2
ajas
"TRF" Member

Watch: SubC, Pam, Speede
BMG is great and definitely worth to consider.
With regards to cracked lugs, yes, it happened to some 1st generation models ( in fact one of my friend from other Panerai forum reported it), but apart of few cases i have not heard much about it.