The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 14 August 2017, 05:03 AM   #1
TheVTCGuy
Banned

Watch: 126619LB
longest comercial flights, any advice?

I am a seasoned traveler... will probably top 100,000 miles this year and earn Executive Platinum status on AA, a step above the Platinum Pro I have now. Oh boy... Anyway my longest flights were in the 13 hour range, LA to Japan, but I have two WHOPPERS coming up in the next coupe months. LAX to SYD and SAN to London, probably 15 hours each. I believe these are the longest non-stop flights available. I have lots of experience with being in a flying tube, and with my status will be at least in the Economy Plus section of a 777 and possibly Business class, so that helps (a lot). But even with my experience I am always open to suggestions about how to pass the time and not be completely obliterated when I arrive. I will stock up on the usual audio books, movies, laptop, etc. Does anyone have any recomondations? For example, I have never taken a sleeping pill to try and erase six or eight hours of the journey, but I know some travelers do. My concern is (of course) it will make me tired, but I find it difficult to truly sleep in airplane seats, even the somewhat nicer ones of economy plus and business class, so if I take a pill and am tired but can't actually fall asleep, that will just make me even more miserable. But I am wondering if I should try it? Anyway, let's hear what you guys have to say
TheVTCGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 August 2017, 05:08 AM   #2
Wcdhtwn
"TRF" Member

Watch: SkyD, SD43, GMT2
Unisom. Or Costco's Kirkland brand sleeping pills. No hangover, great sleep.

I also can't really sleep when flying, my longest flight was Minneapolis to Tokyo. In coach. Middle seat in back of a 747. I hadn't discovered Unisom yet. It was hell.