The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 20 February 2017, 12:43 AM   #1
Kenrocks
"TRF" Member

1680 Red mark I help

I'm a newbie to the Rolex world (new or vintage). I've been eyeing on the 1680 red sub over the last month or so.

I saw two of these actual watches during my scouting around today (sorry no pics as I wasn't allowed to take any in the 2 respective stores where I found them), and based on the info I leaned from this link I have attached at the bottom they happen to have the Mark I dial (the stores told me -without showing me - that the series nos for these two are both 2,0xx,xxx; so they both seem to pass the dial-vs-series-number test).

Both watches have good patina with dials that are clean but possibly services (?). Both watches have hands that look very good so possibly serviced (?). Also both have clear crystals in good shape with reasonable signs of wear.

Being concious that I want a 1680 red and therefore may be biased, I was telling myself to be honest and to stay critical about the condition of the two watches I saw today compared to the images of similar watches on chrono24 and Instagram. My own judgement (as a newbie to the vintage rolex world) is that both of these two watches are in more than fine condition.

The one thing that holds me back the most: neither of these watches have papers (one of them is a big used/vintage Rolex seller in Hong Kong so likely I will get a period-correct box if I buy from this shop).

I don't want to rush myself into an acquisition that involves quite an amount of money for a watch (they both go for about 21k). So I come here hoping I could get some help from TRFers who tend to have very good knowledge and are willing to offer good advices.