The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 17 May 2019, 10:23 PM   #1
Renoire
"TRF" Member

Explorer Mk2 confusion

Hello Forum,

Newbie here!

Just purchased a pre-owned Explorer Mk2, i.e. 39mm, longer hands and lumed 3,6,9 numerals - looks gorgeous! However, I thought it was a 2016 when purchased, but upon receiving the watch, the details state date of purchase as 2011, so I'm very confused as the face-lifted mk2 did not appear until 2016.

Also, when I check the serial number (Z3Z19152) against a couple of online databases it gives the date of manufacture as 2006-7, and this doesn't figure at all, as, as far as I know, the 214270 was not introduced until 2010! So, doubly confused.

Can anyone throw any light on this confusion? I hope I've manage to attach a picture.

Really appreciate any informed comments. Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ExplorerMk2.jpg (85.8 KB, 748 views)
Renoire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2019, 10:41 PM   #2
SpeakWithMichael
"TRF" Member

Watch: Superocean 44not42
Hello, Renoire, and welcome to the Forum. First, in 2010, Rolex began to scramble the serial numbers. So because your scrambled serial number happens to begin with a Z, when you put that into the database, it says, "Oh, a Z at the beginning, those serial numbers belong to the 2006-2007 list (before they began to be scrambled)."

If you change the Z to a Y at the beginning, you'll get 2002-2003. Rest assured, your watch was not made during those years. If you have any doubts, take it to a Rolex AD for verification.
SpeakWithMichael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2019, 11:52 PM   #3
alphasports
"TRF" Member

I had my Mk1 recently converted to a Mk2 by the AD, so that's a possibility too.
alphasports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18 May 2019, 12:07 AM   #4
Jmbarrack
"TRF" Member