The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex WatchTech

Old 19 April 2011, 03:50 AM   #1
jor17
"TRF" Member

Authenticating a Daytona

I just bought a brand new, stainless steel Rolex Daytona.

I bought it from a legitimate watch dealer on 47th Street in Manhattan's Diamond District.

The dealer buys/sells all brands, including Audemars Piguet, Cartier, IWC, Hublot, etc etc.

I will be receiving the watch tomorrow with all paperwork/cases/etc. I saw the watch, tried it on, compared weight to my friends Daytona and looked good to me.

Obviously I am not an expert on spotting fakes, and while I do not believe this watch to be a fake, I am obviously playing the 'devils advocate' card here and want to have it authenticated.

I called Rolex to inquire, and they told me they charge $150 to have it evaluated for re-sale purposes (ie not an authentication, not an appraisal). They suggested bringing it to a Tourneau or other official dealer for authentication purposes.

I was just wondering what I can look for specifically on my watch to ensure that it is legitimate as soon as I receive it (paperwork, engravements inside the bezel, etc).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot!
jor17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2011, 04:12 AM   #2
kareemthedream33
"TRF" Member

Watch: Explorer
Post pictures on here of it so we can help. The only 100% way is to open it up and see the movement. I'm sure if this store is legitimate they wouldn't be selling you a fake watch.
kareemthedream33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 April 2011, 04:17 AM   #3
jor17
"TRF" Member

As I said, I do not believe it would be fake but I just want to rest assured that I made a good investment.

I will post pictures as soon as I receive it. Any pics in particular, from certain angles, showing different views that would help?