The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 20 October 2018, 06:09 AM   #1
City74
Banned

Watch: Speedy Reduced
Icon13 Are pre-owned watch sales so good that....

Are pre owned watch sales so good that dealers/salespeople don’t feel the need to reply to messages for days?

I am looking at buying a couple of watches and have contacted several dealers with watches I’m interested in. Some messages are texts and some are email messages. Some are members on this forum and some aren’t. I will say that 80% or more have taken at least 24 hours to reply. To me that’s crazy. I worked in sales for a long time and the old saying “strike while the iron is hot” was always a good rule of thumb. I’m stunned when I text someone and don’t hear from them for 2 days. I mean is business really that good? It’s pretty bad I have started a list of people whom I won’t buy from in the future due to slow replies to inquiries. To me if the original sale takes that long, I would hate to see when you need help with a warranty repair etc.

Anyone had similar experiences?
City74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2018, 07:07 AM   #2
bayerische
"TRF" Member

Watch: Smurf
Sure seems like it.
Old 20 October 2018, 07:27 AM   #3
GSDLover
"TRF" Member

Watch: Patek 5205r-010
I run into this all of the time in other professions. It baffles me. Best not to get too worked up over it and look at the big picture. Give them a second chance.
GSDLover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2018, 07:40 AM   #4
Star Ferry
Banned

during the next slowdown they'll wish they hadn't alienated people during boom times. classic short term thinking, and IMO pretty standard

an analogy might be a beautiful woman who treats men harshly in her 20's and is suddenly 30 and single
Star Ferry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20 October 2018, 07:44 AM   #5
ras47