The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Patek Philippe Discussion Forum

Old 4 May 2021, 10:38 PM   #1
Guybrush
"TRF" Member

Watch: 118209
Thoughts about this 5107G

I'm considering this watch as a first Patek. The seller states that it's due for a service, but the price reflects that. First thing I'd do is send it to PP for a service and some light refinishing; maybe a new strap too, as the one it comes with is a bit worn. That's a few grand altogether ,I realize (but again the price allows), and a good long while without the watch, but I'm tempted to do it because then I know I'm getting a watch that's been properly treated rather than one that's been "serviced" but perhaps not in an authorized way by PP. Any obvious red flags?

I'm new to PP, and a quick search of my posts will reveal that I've been slightly aimless in sorting out what direction to go in, but I've settled on a wg Calatrava. I have an option to pick up a brand new 5196 at rrp from an AD, which is tempting, but I prefer the (less traditional) styling of the 5107s and 5127s, plus the exhibition casebacks on those models.

Sorry for the small pics---limited in filesize here.

Thanks for any input!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Patek1.jpg (62.3 KB, 445 views)
File Type: jpg patek3.jpg (91.1 KB, 441 views)
File Type: jpg patek2.jpg (79.7 KB, 440 views)
Guybrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4 May 2021, 11:01 PM   #2
ts3
"TRF" Member

Couple of thoughts...

1) Have you tried it on? In my experience it wears smaller than a 5196 (and also smaller than a 5127). I like the 5107 though - especially the black dial P - but don't own it.

2) This watch looks well worn but I don't think I see anything Patek cannot get sorted during the service if you wish so.