The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Audemars Piguet Discussion Forum

Old 14 September 2020, 02:30 PM   #1
LD_321
"TRF" Member

Daytona or Royal Oak

Hey guys, I’m sure this discussion or thread has been beat to death in the past, but I am new to this channel and figured I’d give it a shot and ask for some opinions...

I’m in a fortunate position to pick up either a ceramic Daytona white dial (panda), or a AP royal oak (either 15400, 15500, or 15450 (yes I know the 15450 is 37mm).

I am torn because I just can’t get over the fact of paying $25,000+ for the Daytona and feel as the AP May be a better buy for roughly the same money. I have a 7 inch wrist and worry as the AP 41 feels slightly large on my wrist and I tend to like the size of my daydate40 and Pre ceramic submariner.

Please share any and all thoughts. Thanks!
LD_321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 September 2020, 03:46 PM   #2
daOnlyBG
"TRF" Member

Watch: yes, it's hipster
They're two different watches with two different purposes.

The Daytona has an impressive movement and an even more impressive case. The dial, I would argue objectively, lacks the balance that its ancestors (pre-Zenith Daytona) had. But hey- if you're going to use your watch as a tool, it's tough to beat a chronograph.

Quality and country of origin aside, the AP Royal Oak differs from the Daytona in just about every way possible. Its dial has a rich texture; even the white dial RO puts the "panda" (I mean, it's not even a panda) dial's white paint to shame; and even the biggest Daytona evangelists would agree that the RO does a better job of celebrating its predecessors' dial.

But you give up a chronograph function, and in the case of the Royal Oak Slim Jumbo, you also give up the seconds function (though you do end up with a ridiculously slim case).