The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Audemars Piguet Discussion Forum

Old 12 February 2020, 12:31 AM   #1
TankTom
Banned

Rolex to AP?

Hi all,

Newbie here. I'm going to ask the same question on the AP forum and I appreciate you guys here are Rolex fans but I'd like some advice on whether I should make the move from Rolex to AP. More specifically, a steel royal oak blue dial.

For those that have made the move, is AP significantly a step up from Rolex please?

Thanks
TankTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 February 2020, 12:34 AM   #2
schoolboy
Banned

Watch: 116234
I haven’t made the move...

But a Royal Oak bracelet glows in the sunlight more than any Rolex bracket in my opinion.

The watches probably wear different because of the integrated bracelet.

Also, think about reliability. Although I have no experience with AP, I have read multiple times that a Rolex is more bulletproof and more reliable, AND requires a service less often than an AP.

My 2 cents.

schoolboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 February 2020, 12:37 AM   #3
kieselguhr
"TRF" Member

Watch: 1601
Quote:
Originally Posted by TankTom View Post

Is AP significantly a step up from Rolex?

Depends on which company’s marketing you believe more
kieselguhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 February 2020, 12:48 AM   #4
One&done
"TRF" Member

It depends on what you value in a watch. To me, Rolex to AP is a step down in every way but ymmv.
One&done is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12 February 2020, 12:52 AM   #5
DoxaDavid
"TRF" Member

Hi.

I own both. In terms of fit and finish, AP is a step above. In general terms, a Rolex movement is more likely to need less service or have a reliability issues but from my personal experience, I have never had any problems with mine.