The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 4 May 2020, 06:33 AM   #1
MB_UK
"TRF" Member

Newbie looking for some advice from the experts!

Hi everyone, I was hoping for some advice before hopefully buying my first ever Rolex.

Apologies in advance if I am posting this in the wrong section, I have just joined the forum and am a bit overwhelmed (in a good way) by all the topics and information.

I've never really been in a financial position to justify buying a Rolex before although I have spent the last 10 years looking at them online and any dealership windows I pass. I have saved pretty hard over the last few years along with selling some of my Scotty Cameron putter collection (I am a PGA Professional) and think I am now in a position to finally purchase something I have always wanted!

I'm based in the UK, 33 years old and my only knowledge of Rolex's is through reviews and videos online.

Originally I always wanted to have a ss Submariner (I prefer the newer 'chunkier' model). However if my budget was bigger I would love a yg daytona with leather or rubber strap.

Recently I have really been taken by the Day Dates and think this might be the best option for me. Again yg and the 36mm version. I really like yellow gold and it seems like the older model Day Dates offer good value compared to the newer 40mm model. The difference in price between newer and older versions of other Rolex models seems far smaller from what I have noticed.

I'm really looking for help regarding what I should be looking out for - best models, the importance of original box/papers, condition and if it's been polished, market values etc?

My budget is around the £10,000 mark and I plan on it being my daily watch.

I guess it's a very open ended question but any advice you guys have for a complete beginner would be much appreciated!