The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 11 August 2020, 11:25 PM   #1
milkyberly7
"TRF" Member

What questions should be asked when looking at a preowned Rolex?

I’m going to see a preowned Rolex Explorer II (16570) this weekend and I’m curious what questions this fine community would ask when looking at a preowned watch. I can answer some basics about the piece. I’m going to an AD to see the watch near where I live. The watch itself is a 2008 version and based on what I’ve seen from their other preowned Rolex’s, I’m willing to bet it’s in nice shape. With this said, I’m by no means an expert as I’m looking for my first real luxury watch and the explorer is a grail of mine. With that said, I wanted to pose the following to this group.

What questions should I definitely be looking to ask when I see it?

What are signs of heavy wear and tear that I should keep an eye out for?

What are deal breakers from a used watch perspective only (I like the explorer so not specifically talking about the watch selection at all)?

I appreciate the advice as I look to join the Rolex club!

I’m going to see a preowned Rolex Explorer II (16570) this weekend and I’m curious what questions this fine community would ask when looking at a preowned watch. I can answer some basics about the piece. I’m going to an AD to see the watch near where I live. The watch itself is a 2008 version and based on what I’ve seen from their other preowned Rolex’s, I’m willing to bet it’s in nice shape. With this said, I’m by no means an expert as I’m looking for my first real luxury watch and the explorer is a grail of mine. With that said, I wanted to pose the following to this group.

What questions should I definitely be looking to ask when I see it?

What are signs of heavy wear and tear that I should keep an eye out for?