The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex Watch Gallery

Old 1 June 2007, 08:03 AM   #1
RLXGMT-1675
"TRF" Member

Icon20 Check out my ~40yr GMT 1675 after complete rehaul

Hi guys,

I'm very much new to this forum. I'm also new to owning Rolex and even newer at photographing Rolex!

My father recently gave me his vintage 1965 GMT-Master.
Details are as follows:
Case ref: 1675
Caliber 1575GMT (non-quickset)
Case serial: 1820XXX
Dial: Matte Black
Bracelet: 93150 with 580 end-pieces (a sub bracelet)
Prior service date: sometime in June 1987(!)

After 20 years without a service, merely washing my hands wearing it resulted in immediate water ingress. Not wasting a minute I took it to the RSC and requested:

New dial (the old tritium dial had lost its luminosity)
New hands (same as above)
New bezel insert
New acrylic crystal
Full movement service and calibration
Bracelet and case refinish

I know, I know, damn expensive but I live in Europe so everything is more expensive here!

Take a look at the pictures too:

I must say, photographing a watch is MUCH more difficult than it seems. After having taken about 80 images, only the 4 shown are actually any good. Either my camera sucks or I do.
On the same note, I noticed that using the flash on close-ups reveals little scratches and even dust(!) which really spoils the pic.

Guys, tell me what you think about this marvellous 40yr old watch.
I am only 23!
RLXGMT-1675 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1 June 2007, 08:10 AM   #2
C.J.
"TRF" Member

That's a damn fine watch with a lot of sentiment behind it Congratulations and welcome to TRF
Old 1 June 2007, 08:26 AM   #3
mike
"TRF" Member

Congrats on a lovely and 100% functional 1675. Heirlooms are always the most special as the sentamental value of these pieces are priceless.