The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Watches (Non-Rolex) Forum

Old 17 May 2010, 12:05 PM   #1
Atl

Watch: GMT II, new Subbie
My Granfather's pocket watch

Hello everyone,
My Grandmother passed two weeks ago, and I was given my Grandfather's pocket watch, along with his coin collection. The watch is an Waltham, made in the 20's-30's and looks almost brand new inside and out, the dial, hands, and movement are flawless, it's a BIG pocket watch. Considering it's age, I was surprised it still worked. I know the oils are long gone, but we wound it so it would run for about an hour, and it ran as brand new. I need a watchmaker that can disassemble, oil, and polish it inside and out. I am getting quotes here in Ga, of $400.00, which seems steep, but maybe not. Also, i have no experience with their work, and would obviously like a good job done, (I am pretty anal with my Rolexes). The detail and engraving are stunning on the movement! Any good watchmakers that work on old pocket watches? I have no problem shipping out of state, just want a really great job, that is most important.

Thanks,
David
Atl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17 May 2010, 07:58 PM   #2
Big_S
"TRF" Member

Watch: 16710 LN