The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > General Topics > Open Discussion Forum

Old 9 December 2022, 03:54 AM   #1
Guppydriver
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

Watch: 126710BLNR
Camera Advice Pls! Total Noob. Watch Pics/Ease of Use/ About a Grand

Lately I've been taking lots of pics of my watches for fun, and my old Iphone just isn't cutting it. Especially the Macros I want to take. If I could use it to shoot home vids on occasion as well, that would be cool.

I don't know anything about cameras and I have too many interests to get "totally into" photography, but I want to dabble a little.

I was thinking about a mirrorless from Sony or something.

I just wanted to solicit advice from those in the know. Again, I am a neophyte and I will never be hardcore so please don't waste time with $10K setups. I know there are a lot of gals/guys who shoot watch pics, so if you would consider my (restrictive) wish list and tell me what you would do with the same desires, I'd appreciate it.

My wishlist.
1. Easy to use. Decent auto modes and not overly complex manual modes.
2. Not too bulky
3. Budget around $1000 bucks that includes one (I know, they are crappy) OEM generic lens so I can start learning the camera right away.
4 Decent lenses available at a fair value.

ALSO...

What ONE additional lens with a max of about $500 would you select for more close ups and macro shots? (exclusive of the grand for the camera)

Thanks so much for your time.
Guppydriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 December 2022, 04:01 AM   #2
JasoninDenver
2024 Pledge Member

A Sony a6000 series (based on what you want to spend) would fit the bill nicely while still allowing you to add lenses as you see fit later.

Check out dpreview.com as they have recently posted buying guides for all different categories.

116610 LN
DateJust
Pelagos FXD
JasoninDenver is offline   Reply With Quote