The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 27 January 2017, 05:41 AM   #1
AaronD
"TRF" Member

GMT Master "Pepsi" to service or not to service?

Hello all,

Brand new to the forum and I'm really glad that I found it! I have a GMT Master that was given to me by my father for graduation (some 32 years ago)...and I'm certain he owned it for probably 15 years before that. I hope to pass it down to my son in the future, as well.

I believe all parts are original -- I've never had it serviced -- and if my Dad serviced it, it was probably in the mid-70s?

The watch runs perfectly...although slow...and I believe the dial and hands are in excellent shape. The exterior has the expected scratches on the crystal, case and bezel from regular wear over 30 years.

Unfortunately the bracelet broke, the watch popped off my wrist and hit a boulder or two...I was fortunate to find the watch again...but there is a small dent in the case back now. Operation of the watch wasn't affected. (gotta love that plexi crystal!) However i never submerged the watch in water after that, for fear the seal could have been breached. (before then I've had it down almost 100ft in the Carribean)

The bracelet was replaced with a Japanese knock off (that, quite frankly, is better than the original...but I would still like to repair the original, if possible)