The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 13 January 2020, 05:11 AM   #1
Parapraxis
"TRF" Member

HELP! Rolex newbie who got a call from the AD for a watch, not sure if I should pull

Hi all, I'm new here. Being a beginner, I was hoping to ask for some guidance from more experienced members.

Background: just transitioned into my career. things are going well and financially I am now stable. I wanted to purchase a watch to commemorate this milestone in life. Naturally, Rolex came to mind due to the brand recognition/flex factor. However, after doing my research, I began to really appreciate horology in general. I now find myself wanting to take up the hobby of watch collecting. So my motivations for this first purchase have shifted slightly. However, I have learned a lot in the past six to eight weeks, and I'm continuing to do so.

Watch journey so far: I quickly realized that it is a very difficult time to obtain a Rolex from an authorized dealer. as I started to learn more about the hype, I was drawn to stainless steel sports models myself. I ultimately settled on a submariner as my first watch as I felt it was a fair compromise between price, recognition and quality. I began to reach out to every authorized dealer in my area and visit on a weekly to bi-weekly basis in order to form relationships. Only to authorized dealers do not laugh at me, so I had some hope that I would be able to form a relationship with them, although with each passing week that hope was starting to dwindle.