The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Miscellaneous Forums > Pens & Writing Instruments

Old 14 July 2014, 12:47 PM   #1
Bling72
"TRF" Member

Can't see myself parting with that much money

Hello all.

This may be a case of double-standards. I own a Rolex (which I purchased pre-owned for a healthy discount).

I live in Perth, I purchased a Mont Blanc Pen in Singapore and got a healthy discount. It may be a while before I visit Singapore again.

I am relatively new to Calligraphy and purchased a Lamy set which has 4 different nibs. I found that the broad nibs offer a great Calligraphy writing style. I am still working on creating my own Calligraphy font. The feel of the Lamy pen isn't so great, as it's multi-edged. I prefer the rounded pen with a nice finish (similarly to the Mont Blanc pens).

I went to my local Mont Blanc store, and found a nice selection of suitable fountain pens.

However the prices start from $760 (the Star Walker fountain pen), up to
$1320.

I simply just cannot see myself parting with that kind of money.

Obtaining pre-owned Mont Blanc pens is absolutely impossible in Australia.

Secondly I do not have any faith or confidence in ebay and I refuse to buy anything from there.

I would be open to alternate brands which are under $300, which have a smooth finish on the body of the pen, come with a broad or double broad nib, which is flexible.

Any suggestions on particular models will be appreciated.
Bling72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2014, 09:27 PM   #2
Travelair007
"TRF" Member

Visconti has a line of pens (Van Gogh, Michelangelo, Salvatore Dali tributes) that are smooth, flexible Pd nibs, can be bought with Broad nibs and can be had for $150-175 pre-owned or $250-275 new discounted.
Travelair007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14 July 2014, 10:06 PM   #3
Lion
"TRF" Member

Watch: GMT-II 16710 PEPSI