The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 13 February 2017, 05:13 PM   #1
ojileye
"TRF" Member

Questions on the Datejust 36

Greetings all,

I am new to the luxury watch world and will soon be a proud Rolex owner, as a result of a very generous gift from close family. Additionally, there are a few elements that are out of my hands:

- It will be a Rolex
- It will be a Datejust
- It will be two-toned (TT) Jubilee bracelet

I wish I could have had several months to conduct research and let certain aesthetic choices sit with me, but I had a short runway. After checking out several Rolex watches in person at a local mall, I was really drawn to the MOP dial with diamond markers. I know, I know... many consider it "gaudy", etc. but I found the Roman numerals to be slightly busy. The stick markers were nice but I wanted a little bit of a unique look.

So I ultimately settled for a 36 (I have thin wrists), fluted bezel, steel/gold, MOP dial, and diamond markers. I believe it'll look like this.

I'd love to have forum members chime in on their thoughts about my choice. A couple comments:

- This may very well be the only luxury watch that I own for my lifetime.
- I wanted to get something that would age well with me (I am in my 30's) over multiple decades.
- Don't see this being a daily wearer at all. Maybe once a month, wearing it for nice events (e.g. weddings).
- I like this design. I love the no-pearl-is-the-same factor, I am attracted to the rounded rectangle hour shape for the markers (if there were a non-diamond option I would have opted for it), and importantly, the design makes me happy. Hopefully I will feel the same way after many years.

Questions for you all:
- Would you feel comfortable wearing a watch like this (replete with a pearl dial and diamonds) in an office/work setting?