The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 20 February 2017, 04:17 AM   #1
jameson
"TRF" Member

Got screwed by my AD on DaytonaC

I live in a very wealthy, populated area. My local ADs get a lot of stock but they have serious high-rollers so my 1 watch a year is chump change to them. Because of this, I have a smaller AD out of town that I have been using for the past 5 years. I have bought 5 Rolex's from this small town AD in the last 5 years.

So Basel last year, called this small-town AD same day and they said I was first on the list for Daytona 116500. Confirmed it in an email.

They don't get as many watches as big city ADs which I understand, might take an extra few months. But figured first on the list, no big deal I'm patient, no need to go to my other ADs. I have checked in periodically and they say "haven't gotten one yet".

Then in November they go dark and stop returning my calls/emails. Finally the owner calls me this weekend, says that they have gotten 2 in, owner kept one and they gave the other one to a very good client. I say "no problem, I get it and that's totally fair,...am I in line for the next one?" This is where it gets sketchy.

Excuse #1: Owner says that Rolex won't let them sell to "out of area" folks and are checking their warranty cards to confirm. I respond that won't be a problem, I own a home in that town still.

Excuse #2: Owner then says "we are calling people to tell them they are off the list unless you have bought a number of watches from us". I remind Owner that I have bought 5 in the past few years and have a Patek on order with them, and they say "you are right, you are still on the list I guess...but if I were you I'd start looking elsewhere, it could be a while (years), I likely wont even be able to sell to you anyways"