The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 26 August 2021, 03:00 AM   #1
Guyidan
"TRF" Member

AD: Not taking orders for few years (?)

Hey,

Looking for a daydate, went to an AD here where I live, told me since last week were not taking any orders for any watch except the 36 DD.

He seemed very nervous, almost like he was forced to lie, so offered even to bundle with a different watch, he then went to explain that they stopped taking orders just cause the lack of watches and they don’t want to take customers money and have them wait 3 years.

I’m new in Miami so not relationship with the specific AD, but wondered if there’s anyone here that has good relationship with an AD and can confirm that they’re really not gonna take orders for a couple of years?
As if that the case, might as well just go back gray market now.

Thanks!!
Guyidan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2021, 03:17 AM   #2
dannyp
Banned

Had a dealer tell me recently that they'd stopped taking deposits a couple of years ago, but not that they'd stopped taking/placing orders.

I would imagine that as much as a customer service issue, this is an accounting issue. Could make revenue recognition a pain, and in the current climate, possibly even require them to place funds in a proper escrow account (lots of deposits + multi-year waits + possibility of going under/losing Rolex line).
dannyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2021, 03:21 AM   #3
rambo99
Banned

Watch: SD43,PAM1616,Hulk
my AD guy told me that rolex is going to close its business in 2 years time, glad i've already got my daytona.
rambo99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26 August 2021, 03:21 AM   #4
Master_Grogu
Banned