The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 12 January 2019, 07:25 PM   #1
RolieKid
"TRF" Member

Inherited my dad's watch

Hey all, I am new to the Rolex forums and the world of Rolex. My dad past away not too long ago, and I inherited his watch. He bought the watch after I was born in 1980 I am told, and he wanted to give it to me after he past. It's now mine. It needs to be cleaned, and it needs a battery. I bought it to Rolex NYC for a new battery and cleaning, but they said it has a lot of oxidation and needs a complete overhaul at around 2k plus tax. Apparently, I cannot post a pic as I am a new member. It's a 1980 yellow gold rolex president with a diamond bezel and diamond dial where the arabic numbers are. I hope that describes it better. Once I am able to post a pic, I will.

I wanted to trade it in for a white gold or stainless steel daytona, but my siblings (which seem a bit jealous) and my mother are adamantly against me trading it for something else. Saying that your father will turn over in his grave and if you change it, I will take it back. She can't, as it was willed to me, but I do not want to cause any ripples in the family.