The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 19 June 2017, 12:13 AM   #1
stillsane
"TRF" Member

Watch: 1680, 214270, BLNR
Omega vs Rolex

I am relatively new to high-end watches but have seen and tried on many Rolex watches. Went to an Omega AD yesterday and tried on several nice watches and was a bit disappointed. Any thoughts?
stillsane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2017, 12:21 AM   #2
NoVaSubowner
"TRF" Member

Watch: Love them.
What was the let down about Omega?
NoVaSubowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2017, 12:21 AM   #3
AK797
2024 Pledge Member

Watch: ing ships roll in
I suppose their price differentials reflect your thoughts and the general demand for the two brands. I've owned both brands and think many Omegas used to be great value for money, esp the PO line, but not any more, plus they've become overly thick. Subs/GMTs are easier to wear and hold value much better, in fact some are increasing in value here in UK.
AK797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2017, 12:23 AM   #4
locutus49
Banned

Watch: Platona
They are different brands with different strategic plans. Rolex is positioning itself as a luxury brand. Both are good, just depends on your finances and personal preference.
locutus49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2017, 12:25 AM   #5
zaydans
"TRF" Member

Watch: Rolex 116710
They both are welll known brands with a long history. Many have both in their collection. One thing I know from owning both is the Rolex sports models hold their value better. Not saying they increase but they don't depreciate as much. Don't think you can say the same for Omega.
zaydans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2017, 12:26 AM   #6
stillsane
"TRF" Member

Watch: 1680, 214270, BLNR
I did not care for the thickness at all plus I thought rolex had a bit more refined look.
stillsane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 June 2017, 12:28 AM   #7
Jsanders1985
"TRF" Member