The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Panerai Discussion Forum

Old 24 May 2016, 03:46 PM   #1
Old Expat Beast
TRF Moderator & 2024 DATE-JUST41 Patron

Watch: SEIKO
Icon5 PAM610 Pros and Cons?

I'm thinking about getting myself a first (and probably only) Panerai and the 610 seems to tick all the boxes for me.. Radiomir case, two hands, long power reserve, etc. However, I'm a Panerai novice and would be interested to hear about any pros and cons from you Panerai guys, from the movement to the case style and more.

Thanks
Old Expat Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 May 2016, 04:42 PM   #2
gerzzzzz
Banned

Watch: mineeleXD
Hi Adam,

I'd like to offer my thoughts in it:
1. If resale value does bother you, it is not a crowd's favorite and will take quite a punch when you resell it.
2. P5000 movement is a newer movement hence durability-wise it's hard to say, they are only few years old now
3. Although it's a 45mm watch but it's slightly thinner, so if you're after smaller wearing watch then it'll be a good thing
4. #very subjective point# i personally like older 8 days movement like p2002 aesthetically

I have few 4 pams in the winder and have had almost a dozen, if I can have only 1 pam, it will be 372. If I may ask, how many watches are in your regular rotation? I'm a lazy person and I hated manual winding watch when I started collecting watches, but overtime 3days p3000 movement in 372 is becoming one of my favorites. The case is also full polished (except brushed crownguard) so it can easily be a daily watch, because I can polish the case, bezel, plexiglass to brand new condition whenever I feel like doing it.
gerzzzzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24 May 2016, 04:50 PM   #3
Old Expat Beast