The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 25 January 2018, 07:55 AM   #1
TreadEverSoLightly
"TRF" Member

Canada - Buying Rolex Submariner (New)

Hi all,

Longtime lurker, finally registered today. I've been collecting watches for 5 years and am finally ready to purchase my first Rolex - a brand new Sub 116610LN! Excited to join the club and wear the Sub in good health.

I've now started to reach out to dealers and was quite surprised at my first feedback from Birks in Calgary - I was added to a "lottery list". They receive stock randomly and will call those on the list if their desired watch comes in. From there, if I was chosen, I would have to purchase the watch within 24 hours.

I'm from Toronto but have family in Calgary and think it would be best to buy there for tax purposes.

I knew getting a new Sub would be difficult, but is this really the buying process? It could certainly turn off new watch enthusiasts (not myself, just saying).

Any advice or insight into making the buying experience more pleasure would be welcome and thanks again!
TreadEverSoLightly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 January 2018, 09:24 AM   #2
Lol-x
Facilitator

You have to appreciate that Rolex is not just some item you can pick up off the supermarket shelves....

In all seriousness, there is a greater demand for Submariners than supply, so its a case of joining the list at a dealer or shopping intelligently online or through local watch re-sellers.

Most folks are about as happy as they make up their minds to be. ~Abraham Lincoln
Nothing compares to the simple pleasure of a bike ride. ~John F. Kennedy

ROLEXploitation - yeah I'm a victim
Lol-x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25 January 2018, 09:35 AM   #3
Lime
"TRF" Member

Watch: Rolex, JLC, etc
Was at Yorkdale mall on the weekend saw subs in the case...