The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 5 December 2019, 10:46 AM   #1
skotl
"TRF" Member

Watch: 16622 Yachtmaster
Servicing taking the pee?

It's been a long time since I last posted...
I got my 16622 Yachtmaster serviced in 2014 so figured it was time for a freshen-up. Since then I've probably worn it for maybe 30 days.

Brought it into Laings in Edinburgh and they sent it off with a "quote" of £550 but then I got this back:

Quote:
The Rolex watch you left with us has been professionally examined by Rolex's head watch technicians and their recommendation is as follows:

Necessary works:
Complete service: £580.00
The complete service involves: complete dismantling of the watch by highly skilled technicians, cleaning and inspecting the individual parts of the movement, the replacement of worn parts as necessary, on an exchange basis only, lubrication, re-assembly, timing and complimentary refurbishment of case and bracelet, subject to condition.

Optional works:
Replacement of the glass as the existing is chipped - £110.00
Replacement of the bezel as the existing is marked/worn - £1955.00 *Please note Rolex have advised that should the bezel replacement be declined they will be unable to polish the original.

Total for all necessary work: £580.00 (Including optional works:£2645.00)
Price includes postage, packaging, insurance and VAT.

First off, how come £550 went to £580? More important - I genuinely don't recall any scratches or blemishes on the glass (sic - sapphire?) or bezel, but apparently there is two grand worth of damage.
I'm not suggesting they've damaged it, and I said go ahead with the £110 sapphire replacement, but I do wonder what kind of standard they compare a 16 year old watch against.

Is this common?
skotl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5 December 2019, 10:47 AM   #2
123Blueface