The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Vintage Rolex Discussion

Old 9 March 2021, 11:07 PM   #1
guycalledfrank
"TRF" Member

My first Vintage Rolex

I want to buy my first vintage Rolex. This would be my first Rolex and my first watch over €500.

I am not a watch dude. I am a music/HiFi dude, and a whisky dude...but maybe this first Rolex will ignite my passion for quality watches.

So I have zero knowledge & experience with watches and I would appreciate your help very much. I want to buy a Rolex Vintage, ideally from 1978 like the Rolex Day-Date 18038 or the 18238. But I might consider other/older models alternatively!

Now my questions:
-Anything I wrong with my choice of models?
-Where to buy? I am currently living in Taiwan, but have another residence in Germany. Any shops/providers in Taiwan or Germany?
-Is buying online a risk?
-Anything else I should consider?

Looking forward to your replies...
Regards
Frank
guycalledfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10 March 2021, 03:31 AM   #2
L.K Johnson
"TRF" Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by guycalledfrank View Post
I want to buy my first vintage Rolex. This would be my first Rolex and my first watch over €500.

I am not a watch dude. I am a music/HiFi dude, and a whisky dude...but maybe this first Rolex will ignite my passion for quality watches.

So I have zero knowledge & experience with watches and I would appreciate your help very much. I want to buy a Rolex Vintage, ideally from 1978 like the Rolex Day-Date 18038 or the 18238. But I might consider other/older models alternatively!

Now my questions:

Great solid choices of classic models. Personally I would choose 1803 over 18038/238 just for the case being sleeker on the 1803 + the plexi glass over sapphire which gives the watch another layer of charm.