The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Patek Philippe Discussion Forum

Old 9 April 2022, 12:09 AM   #1
Ashj52
"TRF" Member

Patek 5205r Olive Guidance Please

Hi Everyone,

I would very much appreciate some help please. I am new to watch collecting, only have two Rolexes - picture attached.

I feel I am done with Rolex, love the brand but there are no other models which really appeal to me. I am not keen to purchase further Rolex models as investments either. I am on the waiting list for a Royal Oak, and also love the Patek 5205r. I was disappointed to hear the black was on the verge of being discontinued, so did not attempt to put my name forward. I was delighted to see last week the announcement of the Olive Dial version.

I discussed this on the phone to Patek who were very helpful indeed, and explained they will invite me in once they have a model for me to try (Should be end of the month hopefully). However was hoping for help with a couple of things please:

1) Is it worth the extra cost for the deployment clasp rather than the standard buckle? Which is more comfortable to wear?

2) When purchasing from Patek, is it standard to ask for a free spare strap? I am guessing discount is unlikely?

3) What are your thoughts on the olive dial? I have seen some YouTube clips and it looks great in my opinion.

Kind regards and thank you!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg unnamed-3.jpg (162.9 KB, 2144 views)
Ashj52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9 April 2022, 02:59 AM   #2
djman
"TRF" Member

Hi there, I think the new 5205r is one of the more beautiful annual calendars, I personally love the look of the olive dial. I too am waiting to actually see one in the flesh and I intend to try to order one as soon as I'm able.