The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Watches (Non-Rolex) Forum

Old 11 May 2022, 08:35 PM   #1
gliazzurri
"TRF" Member

New collector challenges (gripes vs state of affairs)

Throwing this out there for both the seasoned and new to the hobby folks...

I'm relatively new to the game of this hobby. Just a few years of study and pursuit and interest, though always appreciated the hobby from afar. Tough times for new collectors it would appear in some regards, especially if looking for more rare brands or models. I've found good satisfaction honing into certain brands now but still remain interested in others out there, some being the unobtainable or impossible ones.

Beyond the expected responses of "just look at different brands" or "there's so many other nice options out there" what do you all think about the state of affairs? I like certain flavors of ice cream and sometimes I just won't have it if I don't like the options. Some brands/models are just technically what I am looking for (FPJ etc) but you just can't even get one. It is painfully humorous to read these other threads of people being told to wait 10 years for a VC for example or whatever else is like that. One might as well just forget the whole idea. I'd love to get into the higher range models of FPJ or other series for example but as predicted am told it is not going to happen.

I don't expect manufacturers multiply their builds but what do you all think of the situation? It's just such a pity. These items were luxury even before things got all wild with the market, and was nice that you could go buy one in store. Unfortunately this was before I really had passion to do so.