The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 27 May 2021, 03:04 AM   #1
vintage213
"TRF" Member

How to start

As I get into mid age, my wife suggested that I start wearing an "age appropriate" watch. I've been lurking here for over a month and I am more confused as ever! If someone's patient enough to guide me along the way, I'd really appreciate it.

Firstly Rolex categorizes watches into 2, classic and professional.
According to Rolex, professional models are "true tool watches designed to meet specific professional and sporting needs in the fields of diving, racing, navigating, exploring and aviation."

So what do the explorer and GMT offer? They seem more to classic line? On that note, I feel the sky dweller should be considered "professional"?

I'm just trying to determine where to even start. For a complete newb like me, what is a recommended model to go after?
vintage213 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2021, 03:53 AM   #2
Ecandrew
"TRF" Member

Watch: 16710 Pepsi
The answer is simple, but not easy: the one you want. Figuring that out is the hard part. Personally, it took me a couple tries to figure out the watch that was “best” for me. Probably not unique.
Ecandrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27 May 2021, 04:19 AM   #3
77T
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

How to start

Quote:
Originally Posted by vintage213 View Post

So what do the explorer and GMT offer? They seem more to classic line? On that note, I feel the sky dweller should be considered "professional"?

I'm just trying to determine where to even start. For a complete newb like me, what is a recommended model to go after?