The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 22 March 2019, 01:13 PM   #1
redbottomcleats
"TRF" Member

Thank you, Rolex

New to the community, thank y'all here at TRF for the introduction to the industry.

I am a complete rookie to this. I am growing steadily in my field and have hit some humble milestones and thought it may be time to spend some time and money in a good watch. Alas, Rolex's marketing worked and it was the first brand that came to mind as a luxury watch. Of course, thanks to this forum and others, I now know it is a small, reputable part of a much bigger industry with many more amazing makers.

In all sincerity I must say the introduction to the Rolex experience has been a bit twilight zone-esque at best, frustrating at worst. For the life of me I cannot see how a customer willing to spend $10k on a steel watch must jump through hoops and beg to give a company his or her money. Fortunately I had the benefit of reading TRF before walking in and had an idea of the kind of reaction the young, uninterested salesperson gave when I inquired about SS models. Nobody was rude, but nobody was pleasant. The opportunity of trying on that first luxury watch you could actually walk out with was an impossibility. I knew it and so did the salesperson. The experience felt mostly sterile, void of any real pleasure - or any feeling at all. It was merely a verification of what I already knew.

I have no basis to opine whether the shortage of SS models is artificially created or not, and if it is, whether it is good or bad for the brand in general. What I can tell you is that as a representative of a generation that is coming in to the industry at what seems to be the worst time to do so, I must say I was forced to expand my horological horizon much quicker than I would have otherwise.