The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex General Discussion

Old 19 July 2017, 08:12 PM   #1
watchluxus
"TRF" Member

Watch: Not Enough
Expensive Watch at a Young Age

Hi everyone!

Thought I would try and get some insights from TRF as many of you seem to be quite successful and forward looking

Basically, I find myself in a very fortunate position and would like to see what others would do in my position. I am currently a student and have no expenses thanks to my very generous parents. Parallel to my studies I have started a job which has me set to net me roughly 40-70K USD/yr.

I have always been a HUGE watch geek (started IG watch page, wrote my dissertation on watches, etc.) and would love to purchase a new watch to add to my collection which currently stands at a 116710LN.

My question is: am I silly if I spend roughly 20K USD on a timepiece at my age, and invest the remaining money ( 20-50K USD) in building up a trading portfolio? I try and justify purchasing a watch as I am truly passionate about watches, but I can't help but feel I am cheating myself. Even though I would still be saving a good amount of money for a student with the purchase, I would only be able to do this thanks to my parents, not myself.

Thank you very much to everyone for reading and I would truly appreciate your thoughts/opinions!
watchluxus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2017, 08:17 PM   #2
Andad
2024 ROLEX DATEJUST41 Pledge Member

Watch: A few.
I wish I knew then what I know now....dada..dada...dada...

Andad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19 July 2017, 08:20 PM   #3
Helmi
"TRF" Member

Get one used for 6.5k....still pricy but if you need the money you can sell at minimum loss. This way you can justify to your self that the purchase is not a pure luxury-inspired and there is some economic sense
Helmi is offline   Reply With Quote