The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex WatchTech

Old 3 January 2021, 08:43 AM   #1
Bayrat
"TRF" Member

Restoring an Oyster Bracelet 92353 18k/SS that has Stretched

I own a Submariner Rolex, Blue Face 16613 18k/SS with Serial Number P84XXXX, which was made in 2000. Bracelet Number 92353 18k/SS. I need to restore the Rolex Oyster bracelet that has stretched over the 20 years. I am a novice at “watch repair” but I am good with tools and fixing things. I am thinking of tackling this task on my own. I think I can do it with some help from the pros on this forum.
I think the tools I will need are an “Oyster Link Remover Tool” that disassembles the pressure fit link for Rolex Oyster bracelets. A good quality watch repair tool kit with different types of plyers. A Metal Band Link Pusher Vice, to press the links back together. There are a few places online to purchase the tools. The prices range from $150 - $450+ for each tool. The cheaper ones are direct ship from China via Aliexpress.
The Rolex Oyster band are held together with 4 pressure fit links on each side of the watch case, a total of 8 pressure links on the entire bracelet. The replacement pins are called a Double Serrated End Link (DSEL) Pin. I don’t know the size of the DSL pins for the 92353 bracelet. I have read the DSL pins are 1.2mm x a range from 16mm- 20mm long???
There are 3 DSEL pins per link, there are 4 links per side, total of 8 links = 24 DSEL pins. Now I might have over counted the DSEL Pins, it’s OK. When I order the DSEL pins I will overorder the pins anyway. I will need some “Screw Pins” for both sides of the bracelet that connects the pressure links to the screw links and the clasp. I have read I will need Loctite 221 to put on the ends of the DSEL pins before they are pressed into the links?

Question to anyone who has restored an Oyster Bracelet: