The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Old 10 February 2019, 05:36 PM   #1
knels
"TRF" Member

Icon10 First Love....(Mini Review & Pics)

I have been scanning TRF for several years now and have bit of free time when working away so thought would go all out and share a few pictures and mini review of my Rolex ownership (aka I'm bored and addicted to TRF).

I have loved watches from a young age but my real passion for watches began when I started my first full time job around 19 years old. I was sat in an office next to 3 watch collectors; all Rolex collectors, my fate was sealed and my watch saving fund had started. I was hooked!

The strange thing about it was all 3 guys wore 216570 Explorer II's as their daily choice out of their wholesome collections. One of the guys had over 30 Rolex at one point but yet chose the ExpII out of them all as his daily office wearer.
From seeing (And trying on) the Explorer II day-in-day-out for almost 3 years I knew this was the watch that I wanted to be my first 'bigboy' watch. With this watch being my first Rolex purchase I wasn't concerned about future value of the watch one bit as it was likely that it will never be sold on.

In August(ish) 2016 I put my name in the hat for a Black Dial 216570 at my Local Rolex AD and by October 2016 I got the call to pick it up. Very memorable day and not sure it will ever be beaten in a watch pick-up sense with it being the first one.
Since that day I had only had to wind the watch up about 3-4 times in 2 years, a define sign that this was the one. It was never off my wrist and has been a weird and wonderful number of places over the world already.

The ExpII as a general model, in my eyes, is very overlooked and less desired amongst the SS sports range. To this day I personally can't figure out the reasoning behind this after my ownership.