The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Other (non-Rolex) Watch Topics > Audemars Piguet Discussion Forum

Old 5 June 2015, 07:23 PM   #1
waisoserious
"TRF" Member

Watch: 116515LN, 126621
Advice needed!! Audemars 25721ST.OO.1000ST.05 . Please give me some advice

Hello fellas!

Im a new member to this website but I am a long time fan. However I am a relatively novice collector (ok I am a noob).

I have a Daytona 116520 (black) and a IWC AMG Ingenieur Chrono. Both of which i bought new, so I have very little experience with 2nd hand watches.

I recently came across this gem... a blueface AP Royal Oak Off Shore 25721ST.OO.1000ST.05

I saw it in person and it seems to be in excellent condition. No indication that it was even worn often. Seems to have been worn very rarely infact. I was quoted around $11,500USD including box/papers and 1 year warranty from the 2nd hand shop (the shop has been around for a while and is somewhat famous). However due to my lack of knowledge of AP and my lack of experience with 2nd hand watches I have a few concerns...

1. Is $11,500USD (I was quoted in New Taiwan Dollars and this is the approximate value in USD) a good price? Depreciation and resale value (if I ever decide to sell it or trade it) are important to me. Which is why I am considering picking up this 2nd hand Royal Oak.

2. Any idea or indicators what year this was made? The store told me 6-10 years old but that is a really BROAD range. Im afraid it might require immediate service. I heard a standard AP maintenance could cost around $3000USD. Does the .05 at the end of the reference number indicate it was made in 2005??

3. I am also considering a AP 26320 (white) New if I dont pick up this 25721ST.OO.1000ST.05. Any opinions or suggestions?

any input at all would be GREATLY appreciated
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1702.jpg (78.5 KB, 179 views)