The Rolex Forums   The Rolex Watch

ROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEXROLEX

Go Back   Rolex Forums - Rolex Watch Forum > Rolex & Tudor Watch Topics > Rolex WatchTech

Old 5 February 2018, 02:52 PM   #1
Sidmind
"TRF" Member

Watch: you, watch me!!
Wish me luck, will be servicing my 14060 soon.

I pulled my 14060 off the watch winder the other day after only a month on it, immediately I noticed a noise coming from the rotor axle. with the back off I found that it rubbed through the nice finish on the outer rim of the movement where it was touching, not good.

I have been servicing old junker vintage watches for about 4-5 years off and on, gaining a large collection of tools and parts and vintage watches, last count was around 500 with most being old Gruen's or Bulova's and such that I pick up at flea markets for a few dollars each with the occasional find of lifetime (1675 gilt for $50), not saying I am a watchmaker as I will leave that term for the professionals but I have successfully serviced a fair number of watches.
I always said I would never service my Rolex or other luxury models, but the 14060 with the 3000 movement is just begging to be next on the list.

I will be ordering (from Ebay as I can find them) a new mainspring, rotor axle, intermediate winding gear, and gaskets. Hopefully, that is all that I will need.

I do already have the proper oils and tools other than a 3035 movement holder, not sure if I will get one or just go with my Horotec adjustable.

I will be sure to upload photos as I go.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0251.jpg (169.8 KB, 557 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0252.jpg (160.1 KB, 548 views)
Sidmind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6 February 2018, 06:16 AM   #2
breitlings
Banned

Watch: Apple TV